Positive customer experience = satisfied customer = loyal customer... Like antibiotics, it's not automatic!

Although the three concepts are correlated, they do not have indisputable cause and effect links. Thus, a consumer may have perceived his customer experience as very positive, without being 100% satisfied with the product. They may also not be absolutely loyal to the brand for a variety of reasons, the first of which is the short-term nature of their purchase: a "one shot" need. To try to see more clearly the interactions between the three notions, let's take them up one by one...

Customer experience

The customer experience encompasses all the stages of the purchasing process and is made up of the different interactions that emerge between the brand and the consumer along the way. The different stages thus include the pre-sale, the sale itself and, of course, the post-sale. It therefore includes a large emotional component. An optimum customer experience is one that has generated a positive feeling throughout the purchase process and which will therefore contribute to maintaining or even strengthening the relationship with the brand.

Customer satisfaction

The consumer may be satisfied with the customer experience... but then be disappointed with the product or service acquired. Measuring customer satisfaction provides information on the customer's perception at a given moment. However accurate it may be, the measurement - which takes different forms: survey, automated solutions such as WizVille - is only a reflection of the customer's state of mind at a given moment. Although it should be taken into account, it in no way prefigures the establishment of a lasting relationship - or not - of the customer with the brand. E.g.: a satisfied customer may nevertheless go elsewhere to buy THE product that his usual brand does not have in its range...

Customer loyalty

Basically, the loyalty of a customer to a brand is measured by the re-purchase rate; that is, the percentage of consumers who have repeated a purchase after the first one, and this, within a predefined timeframe. This is a very factual measure. A second indicator predicts customer loyalty by asking them about their future purchase intentions and their intentions to "recommend the brand". This measurement is based on "declarative" data and therefore requires all the caution attached to the concept.

What are the links between customer experience, satisfaction and loyalty?

The link exists, inevitably, but it is complex!
A loyal customer is loyal - among other things - because he has been satisfied. However, a satisfied customer is not necessarily a loyal one. Is the missing link the positive customer experience? Certainly, because to be loyal, it is likely that the customer must not only be satisfied but also emotionally connected to the brand... Thus, satisfaction and experience are ONLY components of loyalty. Major components, however, that should not be neglected!

Similar articles

Expérience client positive = client satisfait = client fidèle… Comme les antibiotiques, ce n’est pas automatique !

Si les trois concepts sont corrélés, ils n’ont pas de liens de cause à effet indiscutables. Ainsi, un consommateur peut avoir perçu son expérience client comme très positive, sans pour autant être à 100% satisfait du produit. Il peut également ne pas être d’une fidélité absolue à la marque pour moult raisons ; la première étant l’aspect conjoncturel de son achat : un besoin « one shot ». Pour tenter d’y voir plus clair sur les interactions des trois notions entre elles, reprenons-les une par une…

L’expérience client

L’expérience client englobe toutes les étapes du parcours d’achat et est constituée des différentes interactions qui vont émerger entre la marque et le consommateur, au fil de ce parcours. Les différentes étapes intègrent ainsi l’avant-vente, la vente en elle-même, et, bien sûr, l’après-vente. Elle comprend donc une large part émotionnelle. Une expérience client optimum est celle qui a généré un ressenti positif tout au long du parcours d’achat chez le consommateur et qui contribuera donc à maintenir, voire même à renforcer sa relation à la marque.

La satisfaction client

Le consommateur peut être satisfait de son expérience client… Mais s’avérer ensuite déçu du produit ou du service acquis. Or, la mesure de la satisfaction client fournit des informations sur la perception du client à un moment donné. Aussi pointue soit-elle, la mesure – qui prend différentes formes : enquête, solutions automatisées type WizVille – n’est que le reflet de l’état d’esprit du client à l’instant T. Si elle est à prendre en compte, elle ne préfigure en rien de la mise en place d’une relation durable – ou non – du client avec la marque. Ex : un client satisfait peut malgré tout aller acheter ailleurs LE produit que sa marque habituelle n’a pas dans sa gamme…

La fidélité client

Basiquement, la fidélité d’un client à une marque se mesure par le taux de ré-achat ; c’est-à-dire le pourcentage de consommateurs qui ont réitéré un acte d’achat à l’issue du premier, et ce, dans un délai préétabli. Cette mesure est tout ce qu’il y a de plus factuelle. Un second indicateur va, lui, prédire la fidélité d’un client en l’interrogeant sur ses intentions d’achats ultérieurs, d’une part, et sur ses intentions de « recommander la marque », d’autre part. Cette mesure est basée sur du « déclaratif » et requiert donc toute la prudence attachée au concept.

Quels liens entre expérience, satisfaction et fidélité client… ?

Le lien existe, inévitablement, mais il est complexe !
Un client fidèle l’est – entre autres – parce qu’il a été satisfait. Pour autant, un client satisfait n’est pas forcement fidèle. Le chainon manquant serait-il l’expérience client positive ? Certainement, car pour être fidèle, il est fort à parier que le client doit être non seulement satisfait mais aussi connecté émotionnellement à la marque… Ainsi, la satisfaction et l’expérience ne seraient QUE des composantes de la fidélité. Composantes majeures cependant, à ne surtout pas négliger, donc !

Articles similaires

Articles récents

SVI DTMF
web call back
experience client